Nov 13 2018

And the winners are…

2018 saw a massive 100 nominations across the different categories in our Volunteer Awards. These nominations were excellent and the panel of Trust Directors had a hard time whittling them down to just three shortlisted volunteers per category. The National Volunteering Team and a volunteer videographer visited each shortlisted volunteer to put together a 2 minute case study video showcasing the tasks they do to support the Trust.


All nominated volunteers were invited to the annual awards ceremony on the 4th November at Kelham Hall Country Park in Nottinghamshire. A drinks reception and lunch was followed by the presentation of the awards by Barbara, Baroness Young of Old Scone.


You’ve all been waiting with bated breath and we are now pleased to announce the winners and nominees for each category below… (click on the winners and shortlisted nominee names to view the videos)


Acorn Award – this is for volunteers that inspire other volunteers, they can be in any role from photographers to working groups.

Winner – Joanna Yellen

Shortlisted Nominees – David Rodway, Liz Bracken

Nominees – Ian Baird, Judith Parry, Ruth Hyde, Kathy Hughes and Helen Hand, Tom Johnston, Brian Legg, Keith Lelliot, Jules Acton, Chris and Marie Lawton, Nigel Balding, Tom Johnston, Gwynn Dunn, David Mason,




Aspen Award – this award recognises a volunteer that has given significant support to fundraising including committees, membership or corporate partnerships.

Winner – John Revill

Shortlisted Nominee – Esme Clelland



Bluebell Award – this award is for those individual volunteers that stand out for their work in our woodlands providing practical support and care being the guardian of our woods and trees on the ground (couples that work together are also accepted in this category).

Winner – Adam Collett

Shortlisted Nominees – Lionel Knobbs, Paul and Lilian Littlewood

Nominees – Zandra Coyne, Ian Baird, Desmond Lloyd, David Guiterman, Peter Sizer, Derek Yeomans, Chris and Marie Lawton, Nigel Balding, Tim Wright, Clive Atterton, Rohan Amick and Tony Wright, Andy Black, Derek Lefley.



Hazel– this award recognises the contribution of a new volunteer that has joined the organisation within the last 12 months and made a significant impact.

Winner – Alison Stewart

Shortlisted nominees – Wendy and Jon Leach, Hayden Gabriel

Nominees – Jim Low, Carole Marr, Bill Baird, Jules Acton, Gwynn Dunn, Gordon Watson



Juniper – this award recognises those volunteers that provide their voice or time to protect or raise awareness of woods and trees. Volunteer roles that champion our cause such as super campaigners, threat detectors, volunteer speakers, advisory group and panel members.

Winner – Ian Baird

Shortlisted nominees – Michael Fletcher, Keith Knight

Nominees – Keith Wilkinson, Ian Baird, Roger Parkinson, Alan Hunton, Professor Alan Aylward, David Mason, Dennis Jeffery



Oak – this award is to recognise the volunteer roles within the office and home environments and the value they contribute. This could be administration, mentoring, training or research roles.

Winner – Media Library Volunteers (Gary Lacey, Anna Lacey and James Garwood)

Shortlisted nominees – Philippa Batchelor, Liz Ramsay

Nominees – Annabelle Bristow, Liz Ramsay, Liz Estall



Willow – this award is for woodland volunteer groups that have achieved exceptional results in their work carried out on our estate.

Winner – Smithills Volunteers

Shortlisted nominees – Sibsey Wood working group, The Wardens of Uffmoor Wood.

Nominees – Kinclaven Woodland Working Group, Londonthorpe Woodland Working Group



Hawthorn – this award recognises a national network of volunteers that has made a significant contribution to the work of the Woodland Trust or one of our partner organisations.

Winner – Woods Under Threat Detector Network

Nominees – Nature’s Calendar, Observatree Network, Talking Trees Volunteer Speaker Network, Ancient Tree Inventory Network. (No shortlisted nominees in this category)



Special recognition –

Winner – Fingle Woods Volunteers.



Chairman’s Award – this person was picked from all 100 nominations to receive the Chairman’s Award. Liz supports the Woodland Creation Champion volunteers

Winner – Liz Estall



In conjunction with the Volunteer of the Year Awards we present a Volunteer Manager Award. This is an opportunity for volunteers or colleagues to nominate a manager that they feel have given their volunteers exceptional support.

Winner – Jim Smith-Wright

Nominees – Jill Aitken, Ross Watson, Sarah Locker, Matilda Scharsach, Jean Frame, Kate Harvey, Jane Ward, David Rickwood, Eleanor Lewis, Kylie Harrison-Mellor (No shortlisted nominees in this category)

Well done to all the nominees… the support you give us is fantastic and we cannot thank you enough.


  • DavidRodway

    Wow! These photos of winners, etc have come out extremely well and the presentation is superb. Thankyou to all concerned, Sarah.

    November 22, 2018 at 12:59 pm
  • AshleyPeel

    Brilliant to see these photographs of the award winners! Well done to everyone.

    November 25, 2018 at 12:23 pm
  • CatherineHart

    What an excellent event, well done!

    December 11, 2018 at 11:30 am

Post a Comment